DMV rep Marc 2Ray takes a look at the country with “Dear America”

DMV spitter Marc2Ray’s “Dear America” takes aim at America’s history of genocide, slavery, and oppression. The first verse walks the listener through the genocide of Native Americans and the Trail of Tears, to the enslavement of African-Americans, the Civil War, segregation, Jim Crow, all the way to the Civil Rights era. The second verse focuses on the amplified hate coming from the current administration and touches on the Alt-Right march in Charlottesville, the separation of children at the border, and more. The hooks serve as a call to action for America to come to terms with its past and create a better future. 

“Dear America” was produced by Godfather (credits include Wale, Torae, Schoolboy Q and more) and was mixed and mastered by Grammy-nominated sound engineer Calin Enache from District Sound Lab (credits include Pusha T, IDK, Chaz French, Dave East and more). It also features vocals from Allison Balanc. The music video for “Dear America” consists solely of historical footage of these events and news coverage of the more current events.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s