Homeboy Sandman, Simago, & James Wavey Share Ovrkast-Produced Track “The Journey”

Oakland-based nonprofit Oakstop Alliance presents new single “The Journey,” featuring Homeboy Sandman, Simago, James Wavey, and produced by Ovrkast. Due out December 23rd, Royalty Summit is a 12-track album curated by Oakstop Alliance and Homeboy Sandman to showcase Oakland’s most exciting homegrown Hip-Hop talent. Stream the new single “The Journey” here:

“The Journey” is a gritty intro to the upcoming “Royalty Summit” album.  The track is produced by wunderkind beatmaker Ovrkast., previously featured in Rolling Stone, Pitchfork, Passion of the Weiss, and more. Ovrkast’s sample-heavy lofi production effectively sets the scene for each emcee to do what they do best. Veteran rapper Homeboy Sandman’s verse kicks things off. With an excellent cadence, Sand sets a high bar which is impressively met by talented Oakland lyricists Simago and James Wavey.

Oakland, California is an undeniable breeding ground for culture and talent. The city has spawned musical greats such as Kehlani, Raphael Saadiq, Kamaiyah, Fantastic Negrito and many others. Local artists have long expressed the desire to cultivate the musical scene to provide the creative resources readily available in cities like New York, Atlanta, and Los Angeles. The Oakland Resident initiative was created by Oakstop Alliance to provide increased visibility to Oakland musicians, producers, and engineers by facilitating stress-free collaborations with progressive artists from around the world…in Oakland.

Royalty Summit is the debut release from the Oakland Resident music initiative. Homeboy Sandman was planning the west coast run for his There In Spirit Tour when longtime friend and Oakstop Alliance Executive Director Damon Johnson pitched him with the concept. The 12-track album was recorded over 3 days in Oakland as a residency collaboration between Homeboy Sandman, and over 20 Oakland musical artists and professionals.

The groundbreaking compilation album “Royalty Summit” is due for release December 23, 2022.

Stream The Journey

Pre-Order Royalty Summit


Homeboy Sandman: Patreon

Simago: Instagram

James Wavey: Instagram | Facebook

Ovrkast: Website | Twitter | Instagram

Royalty Summit Tracklist

  1. Bas1 Intro
  2. The Journey (ft. Homeboy Sandman, Simago, and James Wavey)
  3. Just Because (ft. Homeboy Sandman, Honest in 10land, and Tone Oliver)
  4. Programmin’ (ft. Fuze, GAM, Honest in 10land, and Tone Oliver)
  5. Come Around (ft. GAM, Alai the Guy, and Homeboy Sandman)
  6. Now (ft. Mike Fish, Homeboy Sandman, and Michael Sneed)
  7. The Herb Garden (ft.Alai the Guy, Homeboy Sandman, and Ovrkast.)
  8. Just Because [REMIX](ft. Homeboy Sandman, Jada Imani, and James Wavey)
  9. Look at the Rim (ft. Homeboy Sandman, A-Plus, and Michael Sneed)
  10. Voice of My Own (ft. Simago, Honest in 10land, and Mike Fish)
  11. Witness (ft. Fuze and Homeboy Sandman)
  12. Bas1 Outro

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s